Faberge Cowl Deux

Pattern: Faberge Cowl by Nina Machlin Dayton

Yarn: Malabrigo Yarn Worsted (Applewood) approx. 0.7 skein

Needles: US 7 / 4.5 mm and 0.6 mm crochet hook

I just completed another Faberge Cowl and I’m loving it. This one I made slightly larger, I cast on 108 sts rather than the 102 sts that I did in my first one. Also I used 5/0 beads which made knitting this one an absolute pleasure. I also went down to a size 0.6mm crochet hook and that made beading easier as well.

I decided to make a second Faberge Cowl as I just really didn’t know what to do with the applewood colorway. As anyone might have noticed, I’ve been loving really brightly colored yarns. The applewood was just a bit bleh for me. I’m not one to let yarn go to waste however and especially not lovely, luscious malabrigo. So I thought that adding some beads might really make this yarn pop. I wanted a deeper sort of bright, maroon-colored beads but I couldn’t get them in size 5/0. After the horror of using 6/0 for my last cowl, I decided that I’d go with the more subtle copper-colored beads that came in size 5/0. I’m actually quite happy that I made that choice because I think the cowl as is is just very classy and beautiful.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

