Busy, Busy

The past two days have been pretty long. I finally got my phone activated yesterday. I ended up having to go to the Movistar office yet again. There Giovanni, the guy who had been helping us, said that his system still wasn’t working but I’d def have my phone ready by the end of the day. Thankfully he called a couple of hours later. The best thing about completing a long day at work is to come home to a home cooked meal. I think I might stay with my host family for the entire four months. I have wireless internet here, an apartment to myself atop the house and best of all, breakfast and dinner cooked for me. And it’s cheaper than getting my own place. Also, it seems a bit of hassle to find a place since I’m here for such a short time.

Today I’m heading to Ibarra, a small town not far from Quito. Steph, the Asst Field Director, is doing a site visit. We’ll be checking out the class of one of the year long volunteers, talking to her school director and also meeting her host family to see how things are going. Also, we’ll be interviewing potential host families as I’ll be sending one of the summer volunteers there and we’ll need host families for the year long volunteers that arrive in August. We’ll be spending two days there.

Here’s another of the nice things about Ecuador. Ibarra is about 2 hours away from Quito and we’re taking Taxi Lagos. We’ll have a taxi picking us up from our respective doors and driving us two hours away for the huge cost of $7 each. Amazing, eh? The bus would be a bit cheaper but then we’d have to trek to the bus terminal and you don’t save too much after the taxi ride to the terminal and then the bus.

During my tenure in Ecuador previously, I lived on the Coast and so never saw too much of the Sierras. Therefore, I’ve never visited Ibarra. I’m looking forward to it. Supposedly they have the best ice cream. They also have great cuy, guinea pig, but I think I’m going to avoid eating that. I’m definitely adventurous but not that adventurous!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

