Times

I meant to be keeping up with my blog but the last few weeks have been tough. I’ve been pretty ill. After suffering some stomach ailments, I then had some respiratory issues. Who would have thought this cute little dog would cause me such problems?

IMG_1790

We went to visit some of my host family’s relatives in Mitad del Mundo (Middle of the World – site where you can see the Equator line) and they had this pup. I wasn’t warned ahead of time of the pup so I hadn’t taken a nice concoction of meds. While we were at the house, I didn’t have any kind of reaction but later on I had a minor cough. I thought nothing of it but the cough continued for a week. I then went to the doctor who said I was having a mild allergic reaction. He prescribed an inhaler and I thought all would be well. I continued to worsen however and then did some self-medicating. I got some prednisone (prednisona here – you can pretty much ask for anything from the pharmacist and get it). Anyhow, I’d been taking prednisone and sucking on my inhaler and not getting much better. I was about to head to the doc again but it seems that this weekend I might finally have won the battle.

Mitad del Mundo

As mentioned before, I headed out on a trip with my host family to visit some of their relatives that live out near Mitad del Mundo. Their house was absolutely lovely and they cooked us the loveliest meal. This whole section will be picture heavy.

The journey: Eric and Christian and I ride in the back of the truck
IMG_1732


Arrival: The house and the eats

IMG_1741

IMG_1804
IMG_1798
IMG_1796
IMG_1815

Musical interlude: Some singing and guitar playing post dinner
IMG_1819
The proud parents
IMG_1824

Mitad del Mundo
IMG_1861
IMG_1958
IMG_1878
IMG_1902
IMG_1912
IMG_1857
IMG_1950

World Cup

As with the rest of the world, I’ve been watching the World Cup raptly. I should add with some Wimbledon watching. Actually I think I watched Wimbledon raptly with breaks for the World Cup. At the beginning of the tournament, I named The Netherlands the dark horse and thought they would win the whole thing. The final was a bit difficult for me. As an avid Arsenal fan I’ve been pretty much supporting teams on which an arsenal player plays. Wouldn’t it be my luck that the two finalists would each have an Arsenal player. In the end it wasn’t too hard though, I do love Fabregas a tad more than Van Persie and I’ve lived in Spain, specifically Barcelona, where Fabregas hails. So at the end, like the octopus, I had to choose Spain. I was sad to see The Netherlands lose though but at the end of the day, I think Spain fought harder. Except for Robben, the rest of the Dutch team seemed a bit too passive.

Wimbledon was good fun as well. The Isner v Mahut match was scintillating. Serena won the women’s match which made me happy though Roddick broke my heart yet again. It was a fun tournament though.

Somehow I need to figure out how to get US open tix.

Shawl Progress

I’m very excited about the Ruffle My Feathers shawl. I’ve had some lovely elves (otherwise known as test knitters) working on it and giving me great feedback. My mind is going a bit nuts with new ideas though my Ecuador schedule has made knitting difficult. I don’t seem to have the downtime to knit and then the commute is so bumpy that it’s just not conducive to knitting. Also, my mind isn’t at rest. It’s a weird thing. I think while I can conceive ideas, I need a certain tranquility to be able to produce them and right now, my mind isn’t tranquil. Maybe my system is finally ready to settle down somewhere. I’m enjoying my time in Ecuador but at the same time there’s a part of me that wishes I were making a life for myself back in NY or wherever I end up settling. For the first time I’m feeling like I’m wasting time. The funny thing is while I’m thinking that I should be considering a more settled life, I’m wondering how I can put together enough money for a trip to Beijing and Tokyo this Fall.🙂

The first test knitter uploaded photos of her beautiful shawl and has been kind enough to let me gank some photos. She knit it using Knit Picks Stroll Tonal in Springtime and it’s beautiful. It screams Spring and the photography is absolutely fantastic. So here are some beautiful shawl pictures to end this post:

Rachel's Ruffle My Feathers Test

Rachels' Ruffle My Feathers Test

Rachel's Ruffle My Feathers Test

Leave a comment

Filed under Ecuador 2010, Knit Design, Knitting

Leave a Reply

