Ruffled Feathers

I feel almost sheepish writing this blog after being so long absent. Lots have happened. The summer volunteers arrived in country and with some crazy flight delays, rescheduling, etc, it meant that life would be pretty busy. Add to that that I fell ill at the end of the first week that the volunteers had been here. It wasn’t easy ill either (Is there such a thing as easy ill?), but rather,ย  I couldn’t keep anything in my stomach and constant cramping. I would drink water, my stomach would cramp and up it went. It wasn’t pretty. It took 2.5 days to recover and then back to work. Then it was the turn of the volunteers to get sick. Hospital visits and just craziness. But life has been interesting and I plan to catch my readers up. However, not quite right now. It’s 11:30 at night and so I thought I’d get the ball rolling on blogging again with some photos of my new design.

Meet Ruffle My Feathers

This design has been in my head for months and I’ve had the yarn etc, but I just hadn’t executed it. I finally finished it a couple of weeks ago but only photographed it this weekend.

This is actually a yarn driven design. I saw this yarn at my LYS on the Lower East Side, Gotham Fine Yarn, and I knew that it had to be knit up in garter stitch. So I bought the yarn and let the rest of the design come to me.

Also, I didnโ€™t want the usual triangular shawl to point towards my buttocks so I thought Iโ€™d try the double spine shaping. With the ruffled feather and fan edging the name was born.

Right now I need to write up the pattern. The chart is already complete because I had to chart it before I knit the edging. I also have very detailed notes.

I’m very excited with the response this has gotten on ravelry thus far. I have received many offers to test knit which is the next part of this process.

6 Comments

Filed under Knit Design, Knitting

6 responses to “Ruffled Feathers

  1. Looks great! I love it! Can’t wait for your line to come out!

  2. Valerie

    Caryl, to say it’s beautiful is an understatement. It reminds me of a peacock struttin’ his feathers.๐Ÿ˜‰ The orange/coral underneath really pops, too. You’re so talented!

  3. I love the new design! And regarding pointy shawls pointing to the buttocks… somehow I think I’ll never see them in the same light ever again.๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

